Hot Buttered Rum

Here’s to holiday drinking.

I am no teetotaler: I enjoy a good microbrew, a fine bottle of pinot noir and, also, good whiskey. Unfortunately, my taste is sometimes out of my price range- so I stick to microbrews mostly. Something about the holidays gives people a reason to imbibe just a little bit extra than they would during other months. Whatever drives you to drink (friends, family or cause for celebration), I support your decision wholeheartedly (within reason).

Last year I spoke of the Tom & Jerry fondly. I am still so fond of it that I have whipped up a couple of batches already this month to enjoy on particularly chilly evenings. I am always willing to expand my repertoire in the kitchen (and behind the metaphorical bar), and so, this year, I will be adding to my hot, boozy drink list to include the Hot Buttered Rum. The thing that is great about the HBR is that it is a very low-fuss drink. You don’t have to worry about scorching the milk and the batter keeps in the freezer very well (unlike Tom & Jerry’s). It’s the perfect thing to have next to you while wrapping presents or for your thermos when you go out to check out a lunar eclipse!

For clarification’s sake, this is NOT the ‘traditional’ Hot Buttered Rum from Mr. Boston- if you have tasted rum diluted with hot water and sugar topped with a pat of butter- THIS IS NOT THAT (to our friend Joe, I am sorry if this drink is ruined for you. I hope that you might try it again, with the following recipe). The Hot Buttered Rum I present to you is a delightful mixture of ice cream, brown sugar, vanilla and nutmeg. This particular recipe originally came from family friends, John and Bonnie Bradley of Bradley Vineyards (their pinot is great). I remember the batter fondly from my childhood. My mother would make up a big batch and put it in an ice cream tub to be administered, as needed, throughout the month. I still fondly remember sneaking fingerfuls of the hot buttered rum mixture, sometimes which resulted in a tummy-ache. I also have fond memories of the over-21 version as well. Anyway. However you like to serve the mix (hot in a drink, or on your finger) this makes a big batch. Feel free to share with your friends.

Hot Buttered Rum:

Batter

  • 1 lb butter
  • 1 lb brown sugar
  • 1 lb powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanila extract
  • 1 tsp imitation rum flavoring
  • 4 c vanilla ice cream- softened

In a large saucepan melt the butter over medium heat. When butter has melted, remove from heat and gradually stir in sugars until the mixture is creamy. Add vanilla and rum. Fold in vanilla ice cream. Transfer to container(s) and keep in freezer until you’re ready to imbibe.

For a hot drink:

Pour 2 oz dark rum and a Heaping spoonful or HBR batter into your favorite seasonal mug. Bring water to a boil and add to the mug. Stir briskly until batter has disolved and has created a light froth at the surface. Sprinkle with a pinch of nutmeg. Imbibe.

1 Comment

Filed under boozy beverage, Holidays

One response to “Hot Buttered Rum

  1. want to come to michigan for christmas, just hop on santa’s sleigh, don’t forget the hot buttered rum…
    merry christmas from hazel, terry, grandpa dave, and amanda.

Leave a Reply

