The Great Lakes.

Now, where was I, and where did I leave off?

Michigan? I have a few things to say about Michigan- their lakes in particular. I have only ever seen the interior of Michigan- as I have family who lives outside of Lansing. We had a lovely visit with my brother, his wife and their 4 wonderful children. From there we headed up the shore of lake Michigan to a little town of Onekama (pronounced on-e-kama) where Nic’s sister, niece and step-mother live (not together, and with their partners).

After spending time in Chicago, lower north-western Michigan was a breath of fresh air- and lots of it too.

It’s too bad that these little ‘recap’ posts are in essence a summary of days of relaxation- but in the course of days, I had so many pleasant experiences that I came away with a pervasive sence of calm happiness. From trying to write about it I get the feeling that it might be pointless to go into detail with words that cannot express what I am trying to say. Please enjoy these photos and their brief descriptions.

Wild onions (ramps) found and foraged at Spirit of The Woods- a conservation project near Nic’s sister’s house. The ramps would later go on pizza and in scrambled eggs for breakfast.

Sunset over Lake Michigan. Lovely, except for all of the swarming bugs.

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore- the first of two National Lakeshores that we saw. I climbed a huge dune to get this photo- it took about 20 minutes, maybe. Then I ran down. That took about 2 minutes.

Crossing over the Mackinac Bridge into the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It was here where I was attacked by mutant mosquitoes- they just love me.

Turtles on a log at Seney National Wildlife Refuge. We also saw loons, swans, geese, mergansers, muskrat and lots of miscellaneous waterfowl.

Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore on Lake Superior. I was unprepared for the beauty and have pretty much entirely changed my opinion about the Great Lakes region. Actually, I really had no opinion about the region, and am very glad to have acquired a positive one.

Leave a comment

Filed under forage, Michigan, places, spring, Travel

Leave a Reply

